If I Said That Tea..

August 26, 2010

I note that there is a Tea Poetry contest going on somewhere close to me. I wont enter (it costs $10!) but I will post my little verse here.

If I say that tea
Is the tannic heart of me
It cannot quite describe
My momentum to imbibe

From a very early age
I could not turn a page
Of comic, paper, book
Unless to char I’d look

In my raucous youth
When beer stole my tooth
At times of hormone stress
Brook Bond dissolved the mess

Now in early dotage
Tea is preferred potage
Taste and time are meshing
Nostalgic and refreshing

A post mortem of me
Would reveal mostly tea
Layers of cabernet
A garland of chardonnay

Leave a Reply

