A Work in Progress Concerning Erectile Dysfunction

July 30, 2010

A short poem about bodily dysfunctions that I wrote last week, just in time for my cabaret show on July 25th. Check out the video on YOUTUBE; search for Bob Sterry.

Scanning from the ground upward over my torso
Reveals a disturbing inventory of dysfunction
brachymetatarsia, in both feet
Unequal leg length
Reconditioned knees
Atrophied right quadriceps
Hernia Scar
L4 & L5 Vertebrae way too chummy
Are these breasts?
Are these jowls?
Gum recession
Moderate gastro intestinal reflux
Three diopter challenge in both eyes
Dermatochelassis, left and right
Male pattern baldness – rear solar panel developing.
And yet when asked
I reply, Oh, I’m fine! I’m fine.
And you, and you still love me.

Leave a Reply

