Pictures of Loretta

February 26, 2010

The Lovely Loretta

Loretta, my mistress, is beautiful and demanding. She demands my attention and my strength. I thought it only fair that she should also enjoy some of your attention. I have already posted the poem I wrote about her, “A Taste of Tarmac” on this site, and now I feel a picture or two are needed. 

This a view from her right. And now I am afraid I must bore you with some details. The Frame; Hetchins Magnum Opus 2004. Seat Post: Campagnolo Record mid ’70s. The Head Set: Campagnolo Record 2004. The Stem and Bars; Cinelli ’60s. The brake: Single Mafac Racer early ’60s. Bottom Bracket; Campagnolo Record English Thread. The Chainwheel: Campagnolo Record Track 170 mm 44T. Rear sprocket: Campag Record: 16T; Yields 74 Road Inches. Hubs: Campagnolo Record Track Wide Flange. Tires: Michelin Pro-Race.  Rims: ERD582/ 700C. Pedals: Look Clipless.  

If you look closely, of course, you can see that she has all the braze-ons needed for derailleur mounting. For that we are waiting for around $2000 of loose change to buy a suitable vintage Campagnolo Record set. Until that shows up I am happy to ride single speed fixed as I did in my youth in the sixties.

Finally here is a picture of Loretta from theright  front to show you her pretty head.

Her Pretty Head

 You can find more about Hetchins and other vintage and retro frames at www.classicrendezvous.com . There is also a Hetchins site at www.hetchins.org

Vive le sport! vive le cyclisme!

Leave a Reply

