For all you cyclists..

July 29, 2009

I have a bicycle whose name is Loretta. She and I are close. She even writes me poems when she feels I have neglected her.

 A Little Taste of Tarmac

 

 A little taste of tarmac, Bobby

Let me spin my wheels

A little taste of the long flat road

I’ve forgotten how it feels

 

 A little taste of tarmac, Bobby

Make my chainwheel hum

A little taste of the up hill grind

Thirty miles and some

 

 A little taste of tarmac, Bobby

Way out among the farms

A little taste of dust on your lips

My metal soul would calm

 

Climb up onto the saddle, Bobby

Clip into the pedals tight

Feel my frame respond to you

You always crank me right

 

Stay with me in the saddle, Bobby

Our ride will be as sweet

As the wash of lactic acid

From your shoulders to your feet

 

It’s good with you on my saddle, Bobby

I know you feel the same

You push my pedals hard now

And laughing call my name

 

Lean easy in those corners, Bobby

Accelerating the while

My frame is all aglow now

On your face I sense a smile

 

Flying home with you, Bobby

You get the adrenaline kick

It makes you sprint the last half mile

And smooth out the left hand flick

 

 A little taste of tarmac, Bobby

I am waiting stem unbowed

Come find me soon and ride me

Before my rims corrode

 

A little taste of tarmac, Bobby

Make me spin my wheels

A little taste of any road

Or forget how good it feels.

 

Copyright © April 2007 Bob Sterry

Leave a Reply

