On Being Asked to Write a Love Poem

April 5, 2012

For one of my shows someone suggested that I write a love poem. I was lying on the couch at the time and noticed that the cushion upon which my head rested was less supportive than it used to be, and almost at once I thought…

Like an old cushion
Whose stuffing you removed
Excepts its me
Just a few balls of fluff
Clinging to the inside corners
Comprising my soul
Forced up against the stitching
Very Old Stitching
Ready to break and cast
The remainder of me out
But for the moment
For a long moment
The half empty pillow of me
Still offers a cozy worn velour exterior
To those who like that sort of thing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

